Un in Uzbekistan
Useful Resources

Media Highlights

On The spotlight

UNFPA

UNFPA, United Nations Population Fund in Uzbekistan

Mr. Karl Kulessa, UNFPA Representative


Mission Statement

UNFPA, the United Nations Population Fund, is an international development agency that promotes the right of every woman, man and child to enjoy a life of health and equal opportunity. UNFPA supports countries by encouraging the use of population data in policies and programs which reduce poverty, and ensure that every pregnancy is wanted, that every birth is safe, that every young person is free of HIV/AIDS, and that every woman and girl is treated with dignity and respect.


Main Areas of Work

The agency has worked in Uzbekistan since 1993, and has implemented its second Country Programme from 2005 to 2009 in close cooperation with its national partners. The major areas of work conducted by UNFPA include the following:

- Assisting in strengthening the technical, managerial and research capacities of the Ministry of Health;

• Providing high-quality reproductive health services by conducting capacity building activities;
• Introducing best practices and internationally-adopted standards to improve the quality of RH services;
• Providing necessary reproductive health (RH) commodities and equipment, training programmes and public events;
• Producing necessary informational and educational materials, while working with mass media;

The RH activity components are supported through the procurement of modern contraceptives.

- Increasing awareness and access to information related to sexual and reproductive health among men, women and young people. Subjects of particular importance include HIV/AIDS, sexually-transmitted infections (STI), unwanted pregnancies and gender-based violence. This information will be made publicly available a number of channels including training programmes, peer education activities for youth, public events, research programs, the production of informational material and collaboration with media in order to increase demand for RH services at all levels.

- Increasing the knowledge of policy makers, religious leaders and community leaders regarding the principles of the International Conference on Population and development (ICPD), and the Programme of Action and the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW). This will be achieved by conducting public events and training programmes in cooperation with the Women’s Committee of Uzbekistan and other relevant partners, involving research, the production of information materials and the development of positive relations with the media. A significant amount of work has been undertaken in order to establish centres for the socio-legal support of women throughout Uzbekistan, in cooperation with the Women’s Committee of Uzbekistan and the nation’s local provincial authorities;

- Building national capacities in terms of demography and population statistics. This has been achieved by conducting various training activities and public events in cooperation with the Ministry of Labor of the Republic of Uzbekistan, the State Statistics Committee of Uzbekistan and other relevant institutions. This work will help to conduct research, produce information materials and improve relations with the media;

- Increasing awareness of population and development among policy makers, by conducting training programmes for deputy khokims and other government representatives on a national scale. This will be undertaken with cooperation from the Centre for Socio-Economic Research of Uzbekistan and the Women’s Committee of Uzbekistan, while necessary information and training materials will be produced.


Main National Partners

• The Ministry of Health of the Republic of Uzbekistan;
• The Ministry of Public Education of the Republic of Uzbekistan;
• The Ministry of Labor of the Republic of Uzbekistan;
• The Reproductive Health Centre of the Republic of Uzbekistan;
• The Republic AIDS Centre;
• The Republic Perinatal Centre;
• The Women’s Committee of Uzbekistan;
• The Tashkent Institute of Advanced Medical Education (TIAME);
• Institute for Forecast and Microeconomic Research under the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Uzbekistan;
• The State Statistics Committee of Uzbekistan.


Contact information
UNFPA
14, M. Tarobiy Street
Tashkent 100090, Uzbekistan
Tel.: (+998 71) 1206899
Fax: (+998 71) 1206897

Website: www.unfpa.uz

BECAUSE EVERYONE COUNTS!

ООН В УЗБЕКИСТАНЕ
Полезные ссылки

Пресса о нас

On The spotlight

ЮНФПА

Фонд ООН в области народонаселения в Узбекистане (ЮНФПА)
 
 
Миссия
 
 Г-н Карл Кулесса - Глава Передствительства ЮНФПА
 
ЮНФПА, Фонд Организации Объединенных Наций в области народонаселения, является международным агентством по развитию, которое способствует продвижению права каждой женщины, каждого мужчины и каждого ребенка на здоровую жизнь с равными возможностями. ЮНФПА поддерживает страны в использовании демографических данных для разработки политики и программ по снижению уровня бедности и обеспечения того, что каждая беременность является желанной, каждые роды безопасными, каждый молодой человек защищен от вероятности заражения ВИЧ, и к каждой девочке и женщине относятся с достоинством и уважением.
 
Основные направления работы
 
Деятельность организации в Узбекистане начата в 1993 году и на сегодняшний день агентство осуществляет вторую Страновую Программу (2005 - 2009 г.г.) в тесном сотрудничестве с национальными партнерами. Основные направления работы включают в себя: 
- Помощь в усилении потенциала Министерства здравоохранения Республики Узбекистан и основных медицинских учреждений страны с целью оказания высококачественных услуг в сфере репродуктивного здоровья (РЗ). Данное направление включает в себя повышение потенциала кадров, вовлеченных в сферу услуг по РЗ, предоставление оборудования и средств, необходимых в области репродуктивного здоровья, внедрение международных стандартов по улучшению качества услуг в области здоровья матери и РЗ. Компонент повышения качества услуг и знаний специалистов поддерживается поставками контрацептивных средств, выпуском сопутствующих информационных и образовательных материалов, а также работой со средствами массовой информации (СМИ);
 
- Увеличение спроса на услуги по РЗ, осуществляемое путем улучшения знаний и увеличения доступа населения к иформации по вопросам репродуктивного здоровья, борьбы с ВИЧ/СПИД и другими заболеваниями, передающимися половым путем, нежелательной беременности и гендерным отношениям. Работа в этом направлении проводится посредством организации тренингов (включая метод обучения по принципу «равный-равному» среди молодежи), проведения общественных мероприятий и тематических исследований, выпуска информационных материалов и работы со СМИ;
 
- Информирование лиц, принимающих решения, религиозных деятелей и лидеров сообществ о принципах самых основных документов, на которых основана работа ЮНФПА, а именно Платформы действий Международной конференции по народонаселению и развитию (МКНР) и Конвенции по искоренению всех видов дискриминации против женщин (CEDAW). Деятельность в данном направлении состоит из проведения общественных мероприятий и учебных курсов совместно с Комитетом женщин Узбекистана и рядом других партнеров, выпуска информационных материалов и работы со СМИ. На данном этапе совместно с Комитетом женщин Узбекистана и местными властями в областях ведется работа по созданию центров социально-правовой поддержки женщин;
 
- Усиление потенциала организаций, занимающихся статистикой посредством проведения различных образовательных и общественных мероприятий в сотрудничестве с Министерством труда и социальной защиты Республики Узбекистан, Государственного комитета по статистике Республики Узбекистан и другими партнерами. Кроме того, в рамках данного направления проводится исследовательская работа, выпуск информационных материалов и работа со СМИ;
 
- Проведение работы по информированию заместителей хокимов и других представителей власти по вопросам народонаселения и развития. Деятельность ведется посредством проведения семинаров в сотрудничестве с Центром социально-экономических исследований Республики Узбекистан и Комитетом женщин Узбекистана.
 
Основные национальные партнеры
 
Министерство здравоохранения Республики Узбекистан, Министерство народного образования Республики Узбекистан, Министерство труда и социальной защиты Республики Узбекистан, Республиканский центр репродуктивного здоровья, Республиканский Центр СПИД, Республиканский перинатальный центр, Комитет женщин Узбекистана, Ташкентский институт усовершенствования врачей, Интститут прогнозирования и макроэкономических исследований при Кабинете Министров Республики Узбекистан и Государственный комитет по статистике Республики Узбекистан.
 
Контактная информация 
ЮНФПА 
100090, Узбекистан, 
г. Ташкент, ул. М. Таробий, 14 
Тел.: (+998 71) 1206899
Факс: (+998 71) 1206897 
 
Веб-сайт: www.unfpa.uz 
 
ПОСКОЛЬКУ КАЖДЫЙ ЗНАЧИМ!