16 Days of activism

“Everyone has a responsibility to prevent and end violence against women and girls, starting by challenging the culture of discrimination that allows it to continue.”

Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon

Background

By resolution 54/134 of 17 December 1999, the United Nations General Assembly designated 25 November as the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women, and invited governments, international organizations and NGOs to organize activities designed to raise public awareness of the problem on that day.

Women's activists have marked 25 November as a day against violence since 1981. This date came from the brutal assassination in 1960, of the three Mirabal sisters, political activists in the Dominican Republic, on orders of Dominican ruler Rafael Trujillo (1930-1961).

On 20 December 1993 the General Assembly, by resolution 48/104, adopted the Declaration on the Elimination of Violence against Women.

Why it is important

·         Violence against women is a human rights violation

·         Violence against women is a consequence of discrimination against women, in law and also in practice, and of persisting inequalities between men and women

·         Violence against women impacts on, and impedes, progress in many areas, including poverty eradication, combating HIV/AIDS, and peace and security

·         Violence against women and girls is not inevitable. Prevention is possible and essential

·         Violence against women continues to be a global pandemic.

How UN observes this day

From 25 November, the International Day for the Elimination of Violence against Women, to 10 December, Human Rights Day, the 16 Days of Activism against Gender-Based Violence Campaign is conducted to galvanize action to end violence against women and girls around the world.

In 2014, the United Nations Secretary-General’s Campaign UNiTE to End Violence against Women encouraged people to take the UNiTE campaign to local streets, shops and businesses, and organize “Orange Events” in their neighbourhoods between 25 November and 10 December 2014 to raise awareness about violence against women and discuss solutions that would work for their respective communities. 

Read more

SG Message on 16 DOA

16 DOA in Uzbekistan

16 дней активных действий против насилия в отношении женщин

"Каждый несет ответственность за предупреждение и прекращение насилия в отношении женщин и девочек, начиная с борьбы с культурой дискриминации, которая позволяет насилию продолжаться."

Генеральный секретарь Пан Ги Мун

Справочная информация

В соответствии с Резолюцией 54/134 от 17.12.1999 Генеральная Ассамблея ООН провозгласила 25 ноября Международным Днем борьбы за ликвидацию насилия в отношении женщин и призвала правительства, международные организации и ННО организовывать мероприятия в этот день с целью повышения осведомленности всего общества о данной проблеме.

Активисты за права женщин начиная с 1981 года отмечали 25 ноября как день борьбы с насилием.  Эта дата знаменует день, когда в 1960 году по приказу правителя Доминиканской Республики Рафаэля Трухилльо (1930-1961) были беспощадно убиты три сестры Мирабель, политические активисты в Доминиканской Республике.

20 декабря 1993 года Генеральная Ассамблея своей Резолюцией 48/104 приняла Декларацию об искоренении насилия в отношении женщин. 

Почему это важно

·   Насилие в отношении женщин – нарушение прав человека;

·   Насилие в отношении женщины – это последствие дискриминации женщин в законодательстве и на практике и существующего неравенства между мужчинами и женщинами;

·   Насилие в отношении женщин влияет и препятствует прогрессу во многих сферах, будь это искоренение бедности, борьба с ВИЧ/СПИД, мир или безопасность;

·   Насилие в отношении женщин и девочек не является неотвратимым. Его можно и необходимо предотвратить;

·   Насилие в отношении женщин остается глобальной пандемией. 

Как ООН отмечает этот день

С 25 ноября - Международного Дня борьбы за ликвидацию насилия в отношении женщин, по 10 декабря - Дня прав человека, проводится кампания «16 Дней активных действий против насилия в отношении женщин» в целях побуждения к действиям, направленным на  прекращение насилия в отношении женщин и девочек во всем мире.  

В 2014 году кампания Генерального секретаря ООН под лозунгом «Объединиться для искоренения насилия в отношении женщин» (UNiTE) призвала    распространить кампанию UNiTE на улицах, в магазинах и на предприятиях и организовывать «Оранжевые мероприятия» в своих сообществах с 25 ноября по 10 декабря 2014 г., для повышения осведомленности общества о насилии в отношении женщин и обсуждения наиболее эффективных для их сообществ путей решения.  

Подробнее

Послание Генсека ООН по случаю 16 ДАД

16 ДАД в Узбекистане