The United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women

 

 

I. Mission

The United Nations Entity for Gender Equality and the Empowerment of Women (UN Women) was  established to accelerate progress on meeting the needs of women and girls worldwide. The creation of UN Women in 2010 received widespread support and has been considered an historic step in accelerating the United Nations’ overall goals on gender equality and the empowerment of women. The activity of UN Women is based on the fundamental belief that gender equality is the basis of sustainable development. UN Women thus assists UN Member States in implementing international norms and standards for achieving gender equality, while also cooperating with governments and civil society in the formulation of laws, policy approaches, programmes and services required for implementing these standards.

The UN Women Multi-Country Office for Central Asia, located in Almaty, Kazakhstan, operates in four countries, including Uzbekistan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan. In these countries, it support governments and civil society organizations to develop and implement innovative approaches aimed at achieving gender equality, development and peace. 

Since 2010, the activities of the UN Women in Uzbekistan have been carried out by project office and represented by a Gender Adviser.

 

II. Main Areas of Work

Economic empowerment of women

UN Women supports the efforts of the Women’s Committee of Uzbekistan to enhance the economic and social status of rural women. This is being achieved through mobilization of rural communities to address economic and social challenges that impede rights-based and gender-responsive development. It also focuses on increasing the living standards of rural women and enhancement of the capacities of Centres for Social and Legal Support to provide consultative and informational assistance to rural women, thereby ensuring these women’s access to economic and financial resources.

National programme on women’s entrepreneurship in Uzbekistan

UN Women is assisting the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Uzbekistan (CCIUz), jointly with the Women's Committee of Uzbekistan and other national partners, to develop the  “National programme on women’s entrepreneurship in Uzbekistan” (WED). UN Women’s previous experience in the country with the implementation of women’s economic empowerment projects is serving as the basis for thiscomplex new national programme, which will feature a special focus on vulnerable groups of women, particularly those from rural areas. 

Promoting Temporary Special Measures in Uzbekistan

One of the key cooperation areas of UN Women in Uzbekistan is related to the promotion of gender equality, including in the political life of the country.   In this regard, the issue of use of temporary special measures (TSM) to promote women’s participation in public decision-making has been successfully placed on the agenda for policy discussions. With UN Women’s technical support, high-level policy discussions – with the participation of the Women’s Committee of Uzbekistan, National Human Rights Centre, parliamentarians, political parties and non-Government organizations – resulted in the development of recommendations for  such measures to be applied in Uzbekistan to strengthen women’s participation in decision-making.

Women and HIV

UN Women’s work in this area relates primarily to HIV-related capacity development of representatives of branch staff of the Women’s Committee of Uzbekistan and of a newly established group of women and children living with HIV. UN Women also helps to conduct  capacity needs assessments of members of the group, Women Living with HIV, and to conduct local-level dialogues between Women’s Committee representatives and women living with HIV, to address these women’s specific needs and concerns.

 

III. Contact Information

14, Mahmud Tarobiy Street, Tashkent, 100090, Uzbekistan

Tel. +998 (71) 120-56-95;

Website: www.unwomen.org and www.unwomen-eeca.org  

Representative: Ms. Elaine M. Conkievich, UN Women Multi-Country Representative (Central Asia); Ms. Farzona Khashimova, UN Women MCO Gender Adviser in Uzbekistan

 

Latest news

On 20 November, a press conference in Tashkent focused on the annual campaign “From Peace in the Home to Peace in the W…

In August, UN Women Multi-Country Representative for Central Asia Elaine Conkievich visited Uzbekistan. In an interview with …

UN Women Publications

UN family in Uzbekistan

Структура ООН по вопросам гендерного равенства и расширения прав и возможностей женщин (ООН-Женщины)

 

 

I. Миссия

Структура ООН по вопросам гендерного равенства и расширения прав и возможностей женщин («ООН-женщины») создана для ускорения прогресса в удовлетворении нужд и потребностей женщин и девочек во всем мире.  Создание «ООН-женщины» в 2010 году получило широкомасштабную поддержку, и считается исторической вехой в  достижении целей организации по достижению гендерного равенства и расширению прав и возможностей женщин.  Деятельность структуры «ООН-женщины» зиждется на фундаментальном постулате, что гендерное равенство является основой для устойчивого развития. «ООН-женщины» оказывает содействие странам – членам ООН в реализации международных норм и стандартов для достижения гендерного равенства, а также сотрудничает с правительствами и гражданским обществом в разработке законов, стратегических подходов, программ и услуг, необходимых для реализации этих стандартов.

Многострановое отделение «ООН-женщины» в Центральной Азии функционирует в четырех странах: в Казахстане, Таджикистане, Туркменистане и Узбекистане.  В этих странах «ООН-женщины» поддерживает правительства и организации гражданского общества в разработке и реализации инновационных подходов, направленных на достижение гендерного равенства, развитие и мир в странах Центральной Азии.

С 2010 года деятельность «ООН-Женщины» в Республике Узбекистан осуществляется проектным офисом и представлена Советником по гендерным вопросам.

 

II. Основные направления деятельности

Расширение экономических прав и возможностей женщин

 «ООН-женщины» поддерживает усилия Комитета женщин Узбекистана в улучшении социально-экономического положения сельских женщин в Узбекистане. Это достигается посредством  мобилизации усилий местных сообществ  в устранении социально-экономических вызовов для обеспечения развития, основанного на правах и учитывающего гендерные аспекты. Организация также уделяет особое внимание вопросам повышения уровня жизни сельских женщин и укрепленияпотенциала Центров социально-правовой поддержки женщин в оказании консультативной и информационной помощи сельским женщинам, обеспечивая таким образом их доступ экономическим и финансовым ресурсам.

Национальная программа по развитию женского предпринимательства в Узбекистане

 «ООН-женщины» оказывает содействие Торгово-промышленной палате Узбекистана (ТПП) совместно с Комитетом женщин Узбекистана и другими национальными партнерами, в разработке «Национальной программы по развитию женского предпринимательства в Узбекистане».  Предыдущий опыт «ООН-женщины» в реализации проектов по расширению экономических прав и возможностей женщин в Узбекистане»  стал основой для разработки новой комплексной национальной программы, в которой особое внимание уделяется уязвимым группам женщин, особенно в сельской местности. 

Продвижение временных специальных мер в Узбекистане

Одно из основных направлений сотрудничества  «ООН-женщины» в Узбекистане заключается в продвижении гендерного равенства, в том числе в социально-экономической и политической жизни страны. Вопрос временных специальных мер (ВСМ) для расширения участия женщин в принятии решений стал частью повестки рассматриваемых в стране стратегических вопросов. При технической поддержке «ООН-женщины», по результатам консультаций  на высоком уровне с участием Комитета женщин Узбекистана, Национального центра по правам человека, депутатов, политических партий и ННО были разработаны  рекомендации по принятию временных специальных мер в Узбекистане для усиления участия женщин в принятии решений. 

Женщины и ВИЧ

Деятельность «ООН-женщины» в этом направлении в основном заключается в  развитии потенциала сотрудников Комитета женщин Узбекистана, в частности, его региональных отделений в вопросах касательно ВИЧ-инфекции, а также  инициативных групп женщин и детей, живущих с ВИЧ. «ООН-женщины» оказывает содействие в проведении оценки потребностей на предмет повышению знаний и навыков членов данных групп и женщин, живущих с ВИЧ. Организация также содействует в расширении диалога на местном уровне между представителями Комитета женщин Узбекистана и женщинами, живущими с ВИЧ, для удовлетворения конкретных потребностей этих женщин и решения беспокоящих их вопросов.

 

III. Контактная информация

Узбекистан 100090

г. Ташкент, ул. Махмуд Таробий 14

Тел. +998 (71) 120-56-95;

Веб-сайт: www.unwomen.org 

Представители: Г-жа Элейн М. Конкевич – Глава Многостранового отделения «ООН-женщины» в Центральной Азии

Фарзона Хашимова – советник по гендерным вопросам в Узбекистане Многостранового отделения «ООН-женщины»