The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization

 

I. Mission

UNESCO, the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization, was established on 16 November 1945. UNESCO contributes to the building of peace, the eradication of poverty, sustainable development and intercultural dialogue through education, the sciences, culture, communication and information. 

UNESCO’s intervention in Uzbekistan is planned and managed by the UNESCO Office in Tashkent in close cooperation with the UNESCO Headquarters, regional offices in Bangkok, Jakarta and Almaty, and the National Commission for UNESCO in Uzbekistan. 

 

II. Main Areas of Work 

UNESCO implements its activities in four programme areas of Education, Social and Human Sciences, Culture, and Communication and Information. 

Education 

The UNESCO Office in Tashkent assists the Government in improving the quality and access of education through technical advice, standard-setting, innovative operational projects, capacity-building and networking. 

Science 

The sciences’ programme of the UNESCO Office in Tashkent focuses on promoting sustainable development through the effective use of land and water resources, also using the traditional knowledge and practices; biodiversity and renewable energies; scientific research in the areas of relevance to the country, including land degradation and climate change. 

Culture 

UNESCO’s mission in the field of culture is to demonstrate that in addition to the intrinsic value of cultural heritage that necessitates its safeguarding and preservation for the next generations, cultural heritage also contributes to the country’s sustainable development by providing income-generating opportunities, in particular for women and the youth. To this end, the UNESCO Office in Tashkent supports the proper management of the World Heritage properties in Uzbekistan, the safeguarding and promotion of the country’s intangible cultural heritage, and the development of cultural tourism. 

Communication and Information 

In collaboration with its national partners, UNESCO promotes equitable access to information and knowledge, and the quality of journalism as a means to contribute to development, democracy and dialogue. 

 

III. Contact Information 

9, Ergashev Street, Tashkent, 100084, Uzbekistan

Tel. +998 (71) 120-71-16/54/55; Fax: +998 (71) 120-71-59 

E-mail: tashkent@unesco.org; Website: www.unesco.org/tashkent

Representative: Ms. Krista Pikkat, Representative in Uzbekistan

 

Latest news

Every year on 3 May, UNESCO celebrates the World Press Freedom Day (WPFD) together with its national partners around the worl…

Science is highly diverse. Each year, World Science Day for Peace and Development offers an opportunity to demonstrate why sc…

This year marks the 50th anniversary of International Literacy Day and UNESCO is celebrating it under the banner “Readi…

The World Heritage Committee has decided to add Uzbekistan’s Historic Centre of Shakhrisyabz to the List of World Her…

UN family in Uzbekistan

Организация Объединенных Наций по вопросам образования, науки и культуры

I. Миссия

ЮНЕСКО (Организация Объединенных Наций по вопросам образования, науки и культуры) была создана 16 ноября 1945 года. ЮНЕСКО содействует укреплению мира, искоренению нищеты, устойчивому развитию и межкультурному диалогу посредством развития образования, науки, культуры, коммуникации и информации.

Деятельность ЮНЕСКО в Узбекистане планируется и управляется Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Ташкенте в тесном сотрудничестве со штаб-квартирой ЮНЕСКО, региональными бюро в Бангкоке, Джакарте и Алматы, а также Национальной комиссией по делам ЮНЕСКО в Узбекистане.

 

II. Основные направления работы

ЮНЕСКО осуществляет свою деятельность в четырех программных областях: образование, социальные и гуманитарные науки, культура, коммуникация и информация.

Образование 

Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Ташкенте оказывает поддержку правительству Узбекистана в повышении качества образования и расширении доступа к нему посредством консультирования по техническим вопросам, разработки стандартов, реализации новаторских проектов, наращивания потенциала и развития сети для обмена передовым опытом.  

Наука 

Программа Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Ташкенте в области науки направлена на содействие устойчивому развитию посредством эффективного использования земельных и водных ресурсов, в том числе за счет использования традиционных знаний и практики; cохранения биоразнообразия и развития возобновляемых источников энергии; проведения научных исследований в актуальных для страны областях, в частности в области деградации земель и изменения климата. 

Культура 

Миссия ЮНЕСКО в области культуры заключается в том, чтобы продемонстрировать, что помимо внутренней ценности культурного наследия, которая обуславливает необходимость его защиты и сохранения для будущих поколений, культурное наследие также способствует устойчивому развитию страны путем создания возможностей для получения доходов, особенно для женщин и молодежи. С этой целью Бюро ЮНЕСКО в Ташкенте оказывает поддержку в надлежащем управлении объектами Всемирного наследия в Узбекистане, защите и пропаганде нематериального культурного наследия страны, а также развитии культурного туризма. 

Коммуникация и информация 

В сотрудничестве с национальными партнерами ЮНЕСКО содействует развитию равного доступа к информации и знаниям, а также повышению качества журналистики как средства, спосjбствующего развитию, демократии и диалогу.

 

III. Контактная информация 

Узбекистан, 100084, Ташкент, ул. Эрагшева, 9 

Телефоны: +998 (71) 120-71-16, 120-71-54, 120-71-55

Факс: +998 (71) 120-71-59 

Адрес электронной почты: tashkent@unesco.org

Веб-сайт: www.unesco.org/tashkent

Представитель: Г-жа Криста Пиккат, Глава Представительства ЮНЕСКО в Узбекистане

 

 

 

Последние новости

«Наша свобода зависит от свободы прессы, и ограничить ее значит ее потерять», – эти слова, которые Томас Дж…

В период с 28 апреля по 3 мая 2018 г. Представительство ЮНЕСКО в Узбекистане в соотрудничестве с другими агентствами ООН, Нац…

В штаб-квартире ООН в Нью-Йорке собрались лидеры из разных стран мира с тем, чтобы обсудить пути обеспечения качественного об…

Каждый год 3 мая ЮНЕСКО празднует Всемирный день свободы печати (ВДСП) совместно со своими национальными партнерами по всему …