The United Nations Population Fund

 

I. Mission

UNFPA, the United Nations Population Fund, is an international development agency that promotes the right of every woman, man and child to enjoy a life of health and equal opportunity. 

UNFPA established its Country Office in Uzbekistan in 1993. The Fund is currently working on its fourth Country Programme 2016-2020, with a focus on promoting reproductive health and rights; ensuring full implementation of women’s and men’s rights, opportunities, and responsibilities; and advancing national capacities in using population data for development programmes.

II. Main Areas of Work 

UNFPA’s work in the country centres on  three main themes:

Advancing national capacities in using population data for development programmes

UNFPA’s work on population is central to the goals of the international community to improve living standards and achieve sustainable development. Population dynamics, including growth rates, age structure, fertility and mortality, migration and more, influence every aspect of human, social and economic development. Other core areas of UNFPA’s work, including reproductive health and women's empowerment, powerfully influence population trends.

Promoting reproductive health and rights, including access of young people to information of reproductive health

UNFPA plays an important role in strengthening the capacity of the health care system of Uzbekistan, so that it is able to provide high-quality services in the area of reproductive and maternal health. The organization supports national efforts on capacity building of medical personnel, provision of essential equipment, ensuring safe birth and maternity, and improved quality of emergency obstetric care services.

UNFPA supports national efforts in prevention, screening and treatment of some prevalent diseases, particularly cancers of the reproductive system (cervical and breast cancer). Support also is given to developing, upgrading and introducing clinical protocols and guidelines in the area of reproductive health that conform to modern standards and practices. 

The organization works to ensure population access to reliable information, consultancies and other services aimed at the prevention of unwanted pregnancies. UNFPA provides substantial input into concerted efforts of all UN Agencies on supporting national programmes for the prevention of HIV and sexually transmitted infections (STIs).

Ensuring full implementation of women and men’s rights, opportunities and responsibilities

UNFPA contributes to the development of effective gender-related legislation in the country. With the Fund’s support, a draft Law on the equality of rights and opportunities for men and women was developed and reviewed by an international expert. This draft has been submitted to national lawmaking bodies for further processing. 

III. Contact Information

14, Mahmud Tarobiy Street, Tashkent, 100090, Uzbekistan

Tel. +998 (71) 120-68-99; +998 (71) 2815881/83

Fax: +998 (71) 120-68-97

E-mail: info@unfpa.uz Website: http://uzbekistan.unfpa.org

Representative: Ms. Mieko Yabuta

Latest news

Working under the overall umbrella of the United Nations Development Assistance Framework for Uzbekistan 2016-2020, UNFPA is …

On the occasion of the International Day of Families 2017 the Women’s Committee of Uzbekistan, Uzbekistan Cycling Feder…

UN Population Fund (UNFPA) organized a press conference to launch UNFPA’s flagship annual report, State of the World Po…

International Youth Day is celebrated with a sport event at the National Water Sports Development Centre in Tashkent. Women&r…

UNFPA PUBLICATIONS

UN family in Uzbekistan

Фонд народонаселения ООН

 

 

I. Миссия

ЮНФПА, Фонд народонаселения ООН - это международное агентство по развитию, продвигающее право каждой женщины, каждого мужчины и каждого ребенка наслаждаться жизнью, полной здоровья и равными возможностями.

ЮНФПА открыло свое Страновое представительство в Узбекистане в 1993 году. В настоящее время Фонд прорабатывает свою четвертую Страновую программу (2016-2020 гг.), в которой особое внимание уделено вопросам охраны репродуктивного здоровья и продвижения соответствующих прав, обеспечения полной реализации прав, возможностей и обязанностей женщин и мужчин, а также и наращивания национального потенциала в использовании демографических данных в программах развития.

II. Основные направления деятельности

Деятельность ЮНФПА в стране ведется в трех основных направлениях:

Усиление национального потенциала в использовании демографических данных для программ развития

Работа ЮНФПА в демографической сфере имеет решающее значение для достижения целей международного сообщества повысить уровень жизни и достичь устойчивого развития.  Демографическая динамика, в частности, уровень прироста, возрастная структура, уровень рождаемости и смертности, миграции и т.д. влияют на каждый аспект человеческого, социального и экономического развития. Другие основные сферы работы ЮНФПА, в том числе и в области репродуктивного здоровья и расширения прав и возможностей женщин, имеют мощное воздействие на демографические тенденции.

Продвижение репродуктивного здоровья и прав, в том числе доступ молодых людей к информации о репродуктивном здоровье

ЮНФПА играет важную роль в усилении потенциала системы здравоохранения в Узбекистане в вопросах обеспечения качественных услуг в сфере репродуктивного и материнского здоровья.  Организация поддерживает национальные мероприятия, направленные на усиление потенциала медицинских работников, поставку необходимого оборудования, обеспечение безопасных родов и материнства и повышение качества неотложной акушерской помощи.

ЮНФПА также оказывает содействие национальным мерам по профилактике, скринингу и лечению некоторых распространенных заболеваний, таких как как новообразования в репродуктивной системе (рак шейки матки и молочной железы).  Также оказывается поддержка в разработке, модернизации и внедрении клинических протоколов и руководств в сфере репродуктивного здоровья в соответствии с современными стандартами и практикой.

Организация работает над обеспечением доступа населения к надежной информации, консультациям и другим услугам по профилактике нежелательной беременности.  ЮНФПА вносит значительный вклад в целенаправленные усилия агентств ООН по поддержке национальных программ по профилактике ВИЧ и ИППП.

Обеспечение полной реализации прав, возможностей и обязанностей женщин и мужчин

ЮНФПА оказывает содействие в разработке эффективного законодательства по гендерным вопросам в стране.  При поддержке Фонда разработан законопроект о равенстве прав и возможностей для мужчин и женщин и рассмотрен международным экспертом.  В настоящее время законопроект представляется к рассмотрению национальным законодательным органам для дальнейшей проработки.

III. Контактная информация

100090, г. Ташкент, ул. Махмуд Таробий 14

Тел. +998 (71) 120-68-99; +998 (71) 2815881/83 Факс: +998 (71) 120-68-97

E-mail: info@unfpa.uz; Веб-сайтhttp://uzbekistan.unfpa.org

Г-жа Миеко Ябута, Представитель в Узбекистане

 

 

 

 

Последние новости

В 1989 году Совет управляющих Программы развития ООН в своем решении 89/46 «рекомендует, чтобы в целях привле…

По случаю Международного дня семьи 2018 года Комитет женщин Узбекистана, Федерация велоспорта Узбекистана и ЮНФПА, Фонд ООН в…

По случаю Международного дня акушерки Министерство здравоохранения Республики Узбекистан и Фонд Организации Объединенных Наци…

Ташкент, 11августа 2017 г. - Международный день молодежи отмечается в рамках Первого Национального Форума «Молодых семе…

Публикации ЮНФПА